A Hesitation is a Missed Opportunity

I’m hanging out at the Starbucks in the 3rd Street Promenade in Santa Monica, CA reading through some online articles on personal development.  I noticed that my battery on my computer was about getting close to dying and there was not a power outlet close to me. I figured I’d sit tight till someone got up from one of the seats close to one. I glanced up momentarily and noticed that one of the tables with a power plug was now empty and my first thought was to get up and move, but I hesitated.  I even caught myself in that brief moment to question why I’m hesitating and clearly knowing the consequences of a very busy place will have that seat snatched up in a second.

I then quickly grabbed my computer and my bag. Just as I was getting up someone had made their way to the table and sat down. Those few seconds of hesitating I missed out on that opportunity. Of course it’s not the end of the world. There will be another table available shortly if I wait, but that’s not the point. The point is that I clearly knew what I wanted to do, I knew I needed a table with an outlet, and the opportunity presented itself and I had to take a second to rethink it? Buy why? I think it’s human nature to sometimes over analyze and over think. It takes some training to mentally be clear of what you want to do and then pursue them without worry or fear of failure.

When I was attending college at Fresno State I remember coming up with a saying “A hesitation is a missed opportunity”. That saying was what had inspired me to make decisions more quickly, to really tune into my intuition and go after the things I knew I wanted before fear or doubt could seep in. Once you train your mind to think in this fashion it really allows yourself to take advantage of many opportunities that life presents to you.  Time is of the essence, and not all opportunities will await until you are ready to accept them.

Think of a time you saw someone you really wanted to talk to and you hesitated. You let fear sink in. You started thinking about what you should say, what they may say back, what if they aren’t interested, what if they reject you. Then they end up being approached by someone else or leaving before you had your chance. All those thoughts you just had are now turned into more pointless “what if’s?”. Now you become optimistic in your thoughts once you have missed the opportunity. You’re now thinking “what if they were the one”, or “what if I had gone and talked to them”.

Opportunities like this happen again and again. Some on a small scale and some on a much larger scale. Once you tune into your intuition of knowing exactly what you want to achieve don’t hesitate. Try it out and see where it takes you in life.

Leave a Reply

