Home > Inspiration & Motivation > Equniox Gym Membership Deals & Discounts

Equniox Gym Membership Deals & Discounts

Don’t Pay For A Gym Membership at Equinox Until You Read This…

If you’re looking to hitting the gym and signing up for a membership at Equinox but want to save some money on the Equinox membership fees, I have a couple of suggestions that you can use to lower your monthly payment. Equinox has many locations from New York to Los Angeles, and many places in between.

equinox vip membership

1.Sign-Up With A Friend

First things first, if you and a friend both want to work out together then definitely sign up together at Equinox to get a discount. Sometimes the staff at Equinox may say it has to be a family or something, but the main thing they look for I believe is that you live at the same address. I have yet to receive anything in the mail outside of the membership card itself, so just pick which address you’ll use and you’ll save some money that way. Each member when signing up will receive 2 VIP trial memberships per year that they can give out to friends.

2. Pay In-Full

Also, if you’re able to pay upfront they’ll also work with you in lowering your overall cost so you can get a good deal. If you can afford to (and I’m assuming you can if you’re going to this gym) then consider paying 6 months or a year in advance.

3. Use Your AMEX Benefits

Do you have an American Express card? They have different benefits for AMEX cardholders. Whether it’s the Gold, Platinum, or Centurion Card… you’ll get some extras included. Like some free personal training sessions, discounts at the spa and shop. Since you’ll be getting these goodies you’ll most likely have to pay the standard price for your new one-year membership.

4. Look For Promotions

I talked to my trainer about when people usually sign up. Thinking it would be an obvious January, but in fact it’s February. Most people make their new year plans of accomplishments the first month and start to follow through the next month. So in late January and early February be sure to keep a look out at some promotional offers they have. They could be offering some like no initiation fee, or student discounts. It wouldn’t hurt to get on their mailing list to be kept updated of what offers they have.

5. Corporate Discounts

Depending on where you work, you may also be entitled to a corporate discount. So name drop where you work and have them look it up. You never know, you may save 20% or more depending on what the company has negotiated with the fitness club.

6. Free Trial

Hey, why not! One week free is better than nothing right? I did the free trial thing, and it help reinforce that the location and facility was a good fit for me. It’s expensive, so it’s worth being sure of when you sign the contract. Nothing is worse than paying a monthly fee to a gym you never will go to. They have several types of trials available, but typical you’ll need a referral from someone. The ideal trial you want is the VIP one, but they also have a 3 day pass as well as a 7 day trial membership.

I’ve been an Equinox member for 2 years and I love it. The facility has provided me a great place to do strength training, swim, cardio, and cycling. All of the classes that are offered make the price worth it if you choose to take advantage of them. I’m happy to answer any questions, or refer you to join for a Free Trial Membership.  Just submit your name and email address below or send me an email with your name and email address to me at rayholt (at) live [dot] com.

Other Tips

So stop by the gym during your normal routine and not just on some idle weekend. Get an idea of what traffic and everything will be like to help you decide between locations that are within your proximity. One location that is closest to home may not be the best option if there is one closest to work. Like if you live in New York or Los Angeles… when you get off work you can get to the gym, work out while traffic dies down, and then head home and save time plus having your workout already out of the way. Also, I’m not sure if all locations have a swimming pool… so if that is something that is important to you then be sure that the Equinox location you choose has one.

I hope all of this helps. If I think of anything else I’ll be sure to add to it.

Follow me on twitter @rayholt

Be well and stay active!!!

Disclaimer: This blog is not affiliated with, maintained, authorized, endorsed or sponsored by Equinox or any of its employees. This is an independent, unofficial site. All information (including promotions, discounts, trial availability) contained on this site is UNofficial.

  1. Becky
    April 29, 2013 at 2:27 PM

    Hi Ray,

    My co-workers and i are thinking abou joining the Equinox in Downtown LA. They wouldn’t offer up any VIP or trial offers and insisted on a 5 day grace period only. Would be nice to check out the club for more than just a week in case we don’t like it. Do you might sharing the VIP trial membership if it’s still available? there is 3 of us.

    Thanks!
    Becky

    • April 29, 2013 at 7:53 PM

      Hey Becky! No problem. I’ll email you on the address that you gave when submitting the comment so I can get the emails of your co-workers. Let me know if there is anyone else that may be interested in signing up.

  2. cindy courtney
    May 9, 2013 at 11:14 AM

    Hi Ray,

    I’m thinking about making the move to Equinox. Do you have any trial memberships left? Thanks!
    Cindy

  3. Francisco Lozano
    May 12, 2013 at 6:23 PM

    Let me know about the VIP trial memberships. Thinking about joining Santa Monica soon. Thx

  4. Melody
    May 14, 2013 at 4:16 PM

    Hi would you also send me a VIP trial membership please?
    Thank you

    • May 14, 2013 at 4:21 PM

      Let me see if I have any left. Regardless, I can at least send you some sort of trial membership I think… so check your spam in case the email ends up there.

  5. Sabina
    May 15, 2013 at 2:58 AM

    Hi Rey,

    Do you still have any VIP trials left?

    • May 15, 2013 at 11:45 AM

      Hey Sabina, when I put in your email address it shows that you’ve already joined. I don’t think you’ll be able to use a VIP trial membership :/ I just sent you a link, so check your email and see if you’re able to.

  6. Emmanuel Cloribel
    May 19, 2013 at 11:23 AM

    Do you still have any VIP Trials to give out?

  7. Kim
    May 19, 2013 at 5:12 PM

    Hi,

    I would love s VIP trials if you have any left. My boyfriend and I are at the end of our current membership and want to check out equinox..

    • May 19, 2013 at 5:19 PM

      Ok, email me your names and email addresses so I can send it.

  8. Frank
    May 20, 2013 at 1:23 AM

    Hi Ray,
    I’ve been searching for awhile for a free trial, would love one if you have any left. Much appreciated!

  9. Jacob Reznik
    May 28, 2013 at 10:56 AM

    Hi Ray, my wife and I are thinking of joining. Do you have any trials left? Do you know if 2 family memebrs get a discount? Thanks!

    • May 28, 2013 at 5:24 PM

      I’m not exactly sure if 2 family members (or two people of the same houshold) get a discount. I just sent you an invite. If for some reason you didn’t get it let me know.

  10. Jay
    May 28, 2013 at 5:03 PM

    Hi,
    Me and a friend have been looking for a nice gym to sign up to. We have heard that Equinox is great, but pricey. We’re looking to sign up but of course we would like to try it out first. If you have any free trial memberships left I would greatly appreciate it if you can send 2, one for each of us. Thanks !

    • May 28, 2013 at 5:23 PM

      Email me your names and email addresses.

  11. Lisa
    May 31, 2013 at 11:31 AM

    Hey, I am with New York Sports CLub and want to switch to Equionx, do you have any VIP trails left?

  12. June 4, 2013 at 2:58 PM

    please send me the VIP trial membership too. I am close by Irvin, CA Equinox

  13. June 4, 2013 at 2:58 PM

    Thank you Ray!

  14. nari
    June 7, 2013 at 4:14 PM

    Hi Ray, thanks for the article. If you have any trials available, I’d appreciate it.

    Thanks!!

  15. Stephanie Grammatico
    June 7, 2013 at 8:57 PM

    Hi Ray- I am looking to join Equinox in NYC- do you have any VIP membership trials left?

    Let me know!
    Thank you!
    Stephanie

    • June 26, 2013 at 4:17 PM

      I sent you an email.

    • June 26, 2013 at 4:18 PM

      Did you get my email? Check your spam box maybe in case it ended up there. It’s titled “Ray invites you to experience Equinox‏”.

  16. Rene & Rena Cruz
    June 12, 2013 at 8:30 PM

    Great info!
    I’m interested in the VIP trail membership for my wife & I. Can you please send info?
    Thanks Ray.

  17. Naima Abdullah
    June 20, 2013 at 5:59 AM

    Hi Ray!

    Thanks for this wonderful information. Yes, I woul like the free trial! :)

  18. Dalia
    July 1, 2013 at 10:15 AM

    Hey Ray! I’m working in NYC this summer, thinking of signing up for Equinox – so happy I found your article before signing up. Would you happen to have any more VIP trials? It would be great to try it out before committing.

  19. Sertac Guven
    July 1, 2013 at 11:56 AM

    Hi Ray, thanks for all the info!

    I am considering joining Equinox in Manhattan – do you have any more of the VIP trials?

  20. Julia D
    July 5, 2013 at 6:21 PM

    Hey Ray, any free trials left?

    Thanks!

  21. Min Song
    July 8, 2013 at 11:19 PM

    Hi Ray, do you still have VIP Trial membership available for Irvine-CA location? Thank you in advance!

  22. sof p.
    July 9, 2013 at 12:40 PM

    Anymore trials left for Paramus, NJ?

  23. Katharine
    July 12, 2013 at 5:23 AM

    Hi Ray,

    I’m moving to NYC to start grad school this fall and I’ve heard rave reviews about Equinox. I was disappointed when I called and they said they don’t offer student discounts, or any at all for that matter. I’m interested in Equinox but wary about the financial commitment and their apparent inflexibility. I’d really appreciate a VIP trial to see if its worth it on a student’s budget. Thanks!!

  24. doug tumbrello
    July 15, 2013 at 12:20 PM

    vip trial for wall street location please.

    thanks.

  25. lisa tubbs
    July 16, 2013 at 5:37 PM

    yes can you send me a vip trailmembership. thank you so much.

    • July 21, 2013 at 9:43 PM

      I sent you a link, check you email or spam folder in case it ended up there.

  26. Annie
    July 21, 2013 at 8:16 PM

    Hi Ray, do you have any VIP trials left?

    • July 21, 2013 at 9:42 PM

      Hey Annie, send me an email to my email address above in the post.

  27. Lee
    July 22, 2013 at 7:49 PM

    Hi Ray, can I please have a VIP trial?

  28. Matthew Brown
    July 31, 2013 at 4:00 PM

    Would the VIP trials you have be linked to CA branches only or could I use one in NY?

  29. Melanie North
    August 1, 2013 at 10:55 PM

    Can you please send us two VIP passes for Marina Del Rey? Thank you!

    • August 2, 2013 at 12:49 PM

      Email me the other name and email address.

      • Mel N
        August 2, 2013 at 2:03 PM

        Thanks Ray. I received the email from Equinox. Is it for a VIP pass for seven days?

        Sent from my iPhone

  30. Divyam Shah
    August 2, 2013 at 3:40 PM

    Hello Ray, we just moved to orange county and thinking about joining Equinox (Either the irvine or Newport beach) both are close enough from our house. Do you have any more VIP passes that you can share? Thanks in advance!

  31. August 8, 2013 at 7:36 PM

    Hi Ray!

    I would also like to try Equinox first before I sign up. Could you please share me some VIP pass for two? Thank you!

    • August 8, 2013 at 9:48 PM

      Can you email me the names and email addresses? Thanks.

      • August 12, 2013 at 2:07 AM

        Sent you an email! Thank you!

  32. Olga
    August 15, 2013 at 10:51 AM

    Hi Ray, could you please share the VIP pass for 2? Looking to join Equinox. Thank you

    • August 15, 2013 at 11:45 AM

      Olga, email me with the names and emails.

  33. Tina
    August 17, 2013 at 1:32 PM

    Hi Ray, My fiance and I would love to try Equinox if you have any passes. Thank you.

  34. Tanya Villanueva-Tepper
    August 19, 2013 at 7:22 PM

    Hi Ray

    I am finally able to devote some long-needed time at the gym and would love to check out Equinox in Miami. Can you please share a VIP pass too please? Thanks!

  35. Tammy dong
    August 21, 2013 at 7:05 PM

    I wanted to check out the equinox in downtown San Mateo ca for a week. Would you be able to email me a VIP week trial pass? Thanks so much, tammy

  36. Amanda
    August 28, 2013 at 6:55 AM

    Definitely interested In a vip membership at equinox! :)

  37. Gia
    September 6, 2013 at 8:13 AM

    Hi Ray,

    I’m looking at new options in the Dallas area and would love to check out the Highland Park Equinox. I know I’m pretty late to the game, but a VIP trial would be much appreciated if you have any left.

  38. Olinka Mori
    September 6, 2013 at 10:41 PM

    HI Ray
    I wish to join Equinox 63st in NYC there seem to be no promos now..do you have any other ideas how to save…? And is there ANY chance that you have a VIP pass for me?
    ????? Olinka

    • September 7, 2013 at 1:30 AM

      Hey Olinka, it shows that you’ve already joined Equinox before so I’m not sure if you’re eligible. I sent you a link anyways, so you should be able to check out that location.

  39. Rachel
    September 8, 2013 at 5:44 AM

    Hi Ray, thanks for the helpful tips. I am looking into NYC 78st. I have never been a member. Do you have any extra VIP passes still available?

  40. September 8, 2013 at 4:07 PM

    Hey buddy. Great article. Could I have a trial Equinox pass? I live 1 blk away from one. hvcortez@mac.com

  41. Tami MacAskill
    September 8, 2013 at 4:21 PM

    Hi Ray,
    If still available, I would love a VIP trial pass to the Equinox in San Mateo, CA! Many thanks, Tami

  42. Stephanie
    September 12, 2013 at 7:43 PM

    Hi Ray!

    Moving to NYC tomorrow and want to make sure that Equinox is worth the money before i decide to join. If you could send me a free VIP trail, I’d greatly appreciate it! Thanks so much.

    • September 12, 2013 at 7:58 PM

      If you will attend their classes then it’s worth it… especially when you go often. If you’re not already in the habit of working out it could be quite the expense if you end up never going. Just sayin’

  43. Vivian A.
    November 6, 2013 at 9:35 PM

    Hey Ray!

    I’m staying in L.A. for a month on a work project. I really need a gym & the closest is Equinox. If you have any VIP passes left, I would great appreciate it. Thanks!!

    Vivian

    • November 11, 2013 at 11:45 PM

      Hey Ray I’m in LA visiting from NYC. Might you have an extra Equinox West Hollywood Trial Membership for me?

      Let me know how to proceed

      Hernando Cortez

      Sent from my iPhone

  44. Sophia Ho
    November 9, 2013 at 8:06 PM

    HI Ray,

    Thanks for all your advice. I’m eager to get started. Do you have any VIP trials?
    Best!

    • November 9, 2013 at 8:25 PM

      Hey Sophia, you should be getting an email from Equinox tomorrow or Monday on how to start your trial.

  45. Kaitlin
    November 12, 2013 at 3:49 PM

    Hey Ray,
    I’m looking forward to trying this gym. Do you have any more VIP passes?
    Thanks
    Kaitlin

    • November 12, 2013 at 7:24 PM

      Hey Kaitlin, No problem. I can get you setup with a trial. I’ll email you.

  46. November 16, 2013 at 12:01 PM

    Hi Ray,

    Do you have any VIP trials available still? I’d like to try the Irvine location. Thank you so much.

    Robert

    • November 17, 2013 at 1:18 PM

      Hey Robert… check your email. You’ll be getting contacted by someone there at the gym to get you setup.

      • Mel N
        November 17, 2013 at 1:22 PM

        Please remove me from your email list.

        Sent from my iPad

        >

  47. January 2, 2014 at 7:19 PM

    Hey Ray, looking to try out Equinox on Pine St in SF, do you still have any VIP trials? It’d be much appreciated.

    Thanks!

    • January 2, 2014 at 10:58 PM

      Yeah, I do. Just send me your email address.

  48. Shay
    January 4, 2014 at 3:54 PM

    May I also have one Ray? Thank you very much– I submitted my name/email.

  49. Biver
    March 6, 2014 at 3:11 PM

    I would also like one if available. Thanks!

  50. March 10, 2014 at 1:19 PM

    Hi, Would you please send me a VIP Trial Membership link too? Thinking about joining Equinox in Encino, CA. Tx

  51. derek
    March 29, 2014 at 8:48 AM

    Hi Ray. Lookking tgo join here in Los Angeles, but I can seem to get a corpoate or friends and family deal. I also have an AMEX plat. Can you help me sure a membership?

    • March 29, 2014 at 10:41 AM

      Yeah, no problem. I can make sure you get get the best deal and take advantage of any promotions that may be going on. Just email me your first and last name and I’ll have my membership advisor each out to you to help get you started!

  52. ravishankar
    April 10, 2014 at 9:27 AM

    Hi Ray,

    Me and my wife would like to try out Equinox and looking for VIP passes,Would be glad if can you please send the passes to us if you have any left..

    I have sent my email address in the form.

    Thanks
    Ravishankar

    • ravishankar
      April 10, 2014 at 9:29 AM

      Also i work at an Mortgage company in Tyson square and have an AMEX card, hope i can get more deals on it.

      Thanks
      Ravi

  53. Kyle
    June 15, 2014 at 12:07 AM

    Hey, looking into joining Woodland Hills or Encino, have any trial memberships? Also, do you know which corporate discounts are available (what companies participate)? What is the discount for getting 2 memberships? What is the pay in full discount? Is there a student discount?

  54. Jeff Tyler
    July 9, 2014 at 11:41 AM

    Hello Ray, interested in joinging the West LA Equinox. Do you have any VIP trials available?

    Thanks!

    • July 9, 2014 at 12:31 PM

      Hey Jeff, I just sent you a VIP invite… check your spam in case it ended up there.

      • Steph
        August 6, 2014 at 2:37 PM

        Hey Ray – I’m so glad I found this article! I’m thinking of joining Equinox. Any VIP trial memberships still available?

        Thank you so much for sharing your knowledge!

  55. Jeremiah M
    July 31, 2014 at 12:54 PM

    Hey Ray, I’m interested in a VIP trial in New York on 92nd street if you have more available. I sent you my information.

  56. Dominic
    August 3, 2014 at 11:59 AM

    Hi Ray
    I’m looking to join Equinox in Irvine, would be great if you can send me a VIP trial membership if possible? Thanks so much

  57. Dominic
    August 5, 2014 at 4:39 PM

    Hi Ray
    I’m looking for a VIP pass to try out Equinox in Irvine, would be awesome if you can send me a pass. Thanks a lot!Dominic

  58. August 12, 2014 at 1:48 PM

    Hi Ray,
    I’m looking for a VIP pass to try out Equinox in Downtown LA, would really appreciate it if you send me some.
    Thanks!

  59. Axel
    August 29, 2014 at 12:21 AM

    hey if you have any free trials i’d appreciate it. 42nd st bryant pk thanks.

  60. Manny Lam
    September 2, 2014 at 11:56 AM

    Hi Ray,
    Do you have any VIP trial memberships / one-week passes left (for the NY Park Ave location)? Sent you my name and email address. Thanks!
    Manny

  61. Jay S
    September 24, 2014 at 7:34 PM

    Hi Ray,
    Can I get a VIP pass to try out Equinox in Tysons Corner, Va. if possible?
    Thanks,
    Jay

  62. Mathias
    October 5, 2014 at 5:46 PM

    Hi Ray. Can u Hook me Up with A Trial in nyc? Thanks

  63. Lilia Gomez
    November 24, 2014 at 7:21 PM

    Hi Ray, Do you have any one week VIP trials for San Mateo, Ca. Equinox.

  1. June 17, 2014 at 11:44 AM

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,591 other followers

